Our summer was a fun one!  Of course there was plenty that we didn’t get done and I know if you ask the kids they won’t remember anything they did except video games.

But we did hop right into August and into two weeks of swim lessons.  It’s so amazing to see how much Stevie has progressed and all of the kids loved swimming.  

We celebrated Stevie’s 11th birthday!  How did he get from this sweet baby to this big kid?

Image

Image

 

He’s a joy to take pictures of lately.  He just manages such a big smile and such happiness!  What a stinker.  He is a great helper and loves his little brother.  Stevie is still a picky eater but eats great quantities of the food that he does love.  He loves playing goalie and is an early riser.  He spent all of his birthday money on Skylanders video game figures and four different Nerf guns. He also had his first soccer practice on his birthday.  So much for the carefree days of summer.

The week after Stevie’s birthday was our 14th wedding anniversary!  Wow, that seems like a long time!  Steve and I celebrated with an evening in Seattle at the Chihuly Glass Exhibit by the Space Needle.  It was so amazing, all the beautiful glass!  We also decided to finally eat at the famous Dick’s Drive in.  Next year, our plan is to take an Alaskan cruise!

The next week was Kate’s 6th birthday!  She is growing up so fast and is so tall for her age!  I just love all the craziness that she brings to our family (sometimes.)  She needs glitter, attention, matching colors, accessories and her two front teeth.  🙂  I can’t believe that she’s in first grade this year!

Image

 

We went to Jetty Island for her birthday with a few friends.  It was a huge pain to take all five kids to the beach without my husband to help and thank goodness my friends were all very helpful!  The kids all had a great time and most of us got good sunburns too.  Kate managed to escape the sunburn, thank goodness.  She also had a soccer practice on her birthday.  She’s a head taller than anyone else on her team!  I can’t believe that she used to be this baby:

Image

 

It was just a couple weeks after Kate’s birthday that the kids started school!  It was so hard to send Stevie off on the early morning bus to the middle school.  He, of course, was totally fine with it and even forgot to take his schedule with him.  I didn’t get any pictures of him because it was so early and I totally forgot!  The girls caught the bus an hour later and they were up and ready to go!

Image

 

Too bad the rest of the days can’t go so smoothly!  Averly is in 3rd grade and Kate is in 1st.  This is the first time in a while that I’ve had just two kids at home for the whole school day.  It is wonderful!  (Don’t tell my kids!)  I can get so much done and it’s so quiet!  Zoey is in a two day a week gymnastics preschool with her neighbor friend, Dominic.  So actually I get time with just one kid at home.  It feels like a vacation!  We’re also still busy with Matthew’s speech therapy and he’s finally saying a few words.  He is signing and saying “more” along with “no.”  We’ve been working on getting him to say “mama.”  But no luck yet.  He’s also getting so big!  It’s been a little harder than I thought it would be, to realize that he’s my last.  He is getting close to two years old now and I’ve always been expecting another baby by this point in the past.  Then I remember and cheer that I don’t have to be pregnant again!

We’ve been enjoying these last few days of summer and are dreading the return of the rain.  With having soccer games and practices 5 days a week, we are getting in a lot of outside time.  The leaves are just starting to turn and we’ve almost eaten all the popsicles out of the freezer.  I guess it’s officially time to say goodbye to summer!  

Coming up next time:  Steve’s trip to Australia and my trip to crazy-land.  🙂  Our Halloween costumes are coming together and did I mention the soccer?